Kegel exercise balls for a beginner?

I've never used them before so want to start out small so need some suggestions of which would be appropriate for me.

I bought my first pair and they were quite large.. It was slightly uncomfortable to put in but once they WERE in, I didn't even notice them and forgot about them for a few hours! I don't really see the point in them to be honest, but that's a personal opinion

x

If you're new to it, you're actually better going for something slightly larger (in diameter), as they're easier to hold in. The biggest you'd get will tend to be around 1.5 max, which is barely more than the width of two fingers, so shouldn't pose problems for most. Length is the only place where bigger isn't always better: to start with, a single ball is most ideal, as again it's lighter and can sit higher up, and so requires less muscle-action to hold in. Even if you think you have better than average tone, the first tiem you use them you'll be pretty much guaranteed to believe it's about to plop out, so making sure that that's an impossibility can really help until you're more confident. If you do have to go with a dual-ball piece, check the length - shorter is easier to keep higher and more comfortable with less effort - and weight - lighter is easier to hold for longer - and don't feel tempted to 'upgrade' before you're happy.

Personally, I'm totally in love with this set: http://www.lovehoney.co.uk/product.cfm?p=20747
It's a little more expensive, but it does have a good spread, allowing you to progress as and when you feel comfortable. If you see my review on it, I even mentioned that I'll still go down a step when I've been slacking, or feeling tender, or just anticipate wearing it for longer than would be comfortable with a heavier/smaller option.