Compensation advice?

Im having a bit off a conundrum !!

I am meeting a NHS manager at the end of august. Due to my daughters medical history she had to have all the immunisation she had as a baby again at age 3. the health visitor cut her leg with the needle and has caused physical and mental scarring. We have great difficulty with her many hospital checkups due to tia now having a fear of nurses. The NHS wants to discuss compensation.

I dont want to seem like im after money but what do people think is a reasonable amount of compensation or another form of compensation suitable?

it has to be equated to something tangible really and is very complex, best way is to consult a solicitor as they have a database of previous similar cases that they can look into and find comparable stuff to give you an idea of a figure

but medical cock-ups make my blood boil so my personal advice...take them for EVERY penny you can get

I have a lot of experience with the legal profession. The crux for any legal case is the definition of 'loss' and Emu's advice is spot-on. Solicitors are well versed in cases like yours and will be able to refer to case law and payment guidelines to work out what should be paid. Ultimately, it will be a bit of a horsedeal unless you took the matter to court, which I would not advise.

It looks like the NHS are taking the lead on this so are likely to have a figure in mind which is your starting point. My advice follows Emu, speak to a solicitor and get advice. If the NHS are volunteering a settlement then you can ask the solicitor to work 'at risk' as they should be able to see this is a winning case with the NHS picking up their costs. The solicitor can either stay in the background and advise you privately which will keep negotiations friendly and open, or you can take them with you which may not be as productive as I find this makes people watch what they say and become very guarded.

I would get them to suggest a figure, and whatever it is take it.