Electrostim health risks?

I’m thinking of using my reinstated birthday bonus to buy an Electrastim EM60 M pack.

I’ve never used electrostim toys before but I’d like to give them a try.

Are there any specific health risks that I should be aware of. I’m old (69) but healthy with no heart or BP problems.

Anyone with a heart condition, epilepsy, has a medically implanted device or is pregnant should avoid electrostim but other than that as long as you follow the safety advice, you should be fine. If you have a lot of broken or irritated skin where you intend to use the toy, you should wait for it to heal first.

As with anything, if you start feeling unwell (or just not right) then stop.

1 Like

…and even if you don’t have any of the health issues @Calie has mentioned, nobody should ever position the electrodes in such a way that the current could pass across the chest (for example: positive on one nipple clamp, negative on the other) as it could disrupt the normal rhythm of the heart.

I first discovered electrostim when it was prescribed to help me walk. My nerves don’t work well on my right side but the electrical impulses attached to a footswitch allows me to walk so it’s a powerful tool. It’s also an addictive feeling! The clinic did warn me not to ever try it out above the waist, though.

After discovering I liked the feeling I also bought the Tenscare iTouch for kegel exercises and was gifted a Mystim Truman. Be warned, it’s addictive. I do get irritation on my skin where the pads have been on for a while but you can get replacements for sensitive skin if you need to. Don’t use on broken skin.