Genital herpes help

This is a question for a good friend, Unfortunately they caught herpes off their last sexual partner.
They are now single and have been for a while, they would like to be back in the dating game for either a bit of fun or eventually a new relationship but one thing that has held them back is the stigma, as they put it, of having to tell potential partners they have herpes,
Is there a way they can have sex without the worry of the sexual partner catching herpes from them? Are there any treatments, creams, even some sort of sexual barrier that they can use that will protect the sexual partner or is it as they fear they will have to tell the person and hope it doesn’t put them off having sex or a relationship?

1 Like

Sorry, I have no experience of this but I would think this would be something to discuss with a doctor, pharmacist or sexual health clinic. It’s best to ask a professional because they will be able to give your friend the best advice. Hopefully someone else here will be able to help but I’d still run it past a professional to be on the safe side.

3 Likes

Get to the go or sexual health clinic - there is no safe method and it’s very contagious
:hotel:

2 Likes

Most of the questions I ask on here “are for a friend” too… :wink: J/K That would suck… be careful as they can turn into other things.

2 Likes

@valbowski77 It really is actually for a friend, a female friend who is struggling to deal with having to be honest about having herpes!
She’s very vanilla so the LH forum is not for her so thought I’d ask on her behalf.
I can thankfully say I’m herpes free.

She needs to learn about it. I don’t think there is ever a safe time.

I’d be furious if someone I had sex with had herpes and put me at risk by not telling me and giving me the opportunity to decide for myself whether I want to engage or not.

2 Likes