my first time - any advice?

Hi there! This is my first time writing on the forum, and I feel slightly awkward trying to find a way to say this

I've been in a relationship (with a man (since this might change the advice)) since December of last year. I've never had sex before....I'm quite nervous about my first time. I would like it to be with him, but I don't know how to bring it up, and I am nervous about it!

I do know what turns me on (thanks, lovehoney!), but the whole idea of losing my virginity is scary and exciting at the same time, and I want it to be a good experience.

Do people on here have any advice?

telling him would be the best tbh.
Investing in a good water based lube might be helpful but remember it isnt a substitute for getting proprerly turned on. Take plenty of time on foreplay and try to tell or show him how you like To be touched.
Being on top means you can control the penetration at the speed you are comfortable with,but communication with your OH will help in other positions.
Most importantly relax and enjoy!

Indeed, he needs to know so as to approach things correctly, rather than assume you're not a virgin and he just tries to plug in and do the hammer and tongs thing that can often mark a first encounter between any two people new to each other as sexual partners.

As above, both take your time and he'll need to exercise patience (it really won't kill him..) and when you're at ease and feel as relaxed and aroused (both mentally and physically) as you possibly can - then just take him in hand and guide him in at a pace and depth YOU are comfortable with.

I'll leave it to actual women to comment as to what happens next as I've never taken anyone's virginity and I'm sure they'll be far more helpful.

Otherwise, good luck and I hope you enjoy it as much as you can. Then the fun stuff can start and the whole wide world of sex is there for the taking.