Proposing abroad

Hi everyone!

I am looking to propose to my partner on holiday as its my first time ever flying abroad and also its our first time going on holiday after 9 years together.
I dont want to be getting caught with the ring at airport security and so i have a couple of questions…
Will the metal detectors detect the ring at the airport during check in ?
Also will the metal detectors pick up the ring in my luggage suitcase? as i wont be taking any hand luggage.
If anyone has any experience in this please let me know how it went !
:blush:

1 Like

edited by mod no, a ring will not set off a lock down at the airport.

Thankyou for your rude comment :+1:if you aint got anything nice to say then dont say it at all.

1 Like

I think the OP is suggesting that it might set of a metal detector leading to a search and therefore the partner seeing the ring in advance. Or possibly the contents of the suitcase being visible to his partner as it goes through a scanner. The OP says he hasn’t flown before so isn’t familiar with security.

To answer your question, if it’s in your hold luggage you will be fine. You will hand over you suitcases on arrival, they will be weighed and a tag put on them, they will then be taken away on a conveyer and scanned by security behind the scenes. If you put it in your hand luggage it should also be fine, it will be x-rayed but your partner is unlikely to see the image. The only problem would be if it is in your pocket when you go through the metal detectors so don’t do that!

Good luck and have a lovely time!

2 Likes

I think that’s an awesome thing to do @Samuel21 :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

I can’t see any problems if it’s in your hold luggage :blush:

Have the best time!

Good luck, no issues re ring. And i would strongly recommend getting married abroad, no issues with relatives and friends as most will say ( eg. Im not flying to the usa, say ? )

How lovely and congratulations.