Self help... Help! What keeps you sane?

As I’m sure everyone is at the moment, I’m just finding it a bit hard to stay happy and positive. I’ve been struggling with my mood for a while now and I’m mostly taking it out on my husband which is horrid.

We have a toddler who obviously demands a lot of time, attention, patience and cuddles and I feel that I give my all to him. I work in a hospital and my job is also very emotionally demanding and stressful. I give my all to my job and my child but it’s leaving me frazzled and unhappy and often a bit snappy! (covid obviously not helping this situation!)

I keep thinking I’m unhappy in my marriage but I really don’t think that’s the problem, I think I need to learn ways to manage my temper, keep myself happy and motivated.

Soooo… Self help books? Meditation? Happy podcasts? Hit me up, what do you use? What helps you stay a happy and nice person? Open to anything. Somethings got to change or I think my marriage will be going down the pan…

3 Likes

It’s been a tough time recently and I can completely understand it getting on top of you. I do a few things…I love listening to my music, podcasts, PS4 etc.
Do you have people you can reach out to for a chat from time to time?

Hmm… For me, I try to exercise for a few hours per week. Listening to my personal playlist as I do it. Definitely lifts my mood.

One of the other things that makes me feel a little better is just completing tasks. Doesn’t have to be anything complex. It can be as mundane as sorting your sock drawer or something. I like to make a list of things to complete in the day and tick them off. It feels good to finish everything. Like I’ve made some form of progress, even if it is tiny or insignificant.

Don’t forget to treat yourself or have your own space. A time to unwind and de-stress. How about taking it easy in the evening with a bag of popcorn and a movie? Reading a book or working on some form of art/craft project that you like?

Best of luck.

4 Likes