Communication.

Hi all, I'm new to the whole forum thing so please bare with me.

I've read a lot of posts that all seem to have the same answer and that is talking and communication with your wife/partner/OH/husband etc but my question and the problem I have is how do you start a conversation with or try to talk with someone that is at best reluctant to discuss anything intimate and at worst, dismisses any topic/situation/concern/request or issue as nothing to talk about and not a problem and if it/there is a problem then it's not them and has to be the other person being unreasonable because they want more than nothing or its your problem and lump it?

Sorry, just needed a rant really.

I'll take the bullet on this one I guess, since I reel out ''communication'' as the solution to most things, mainly because it often bloody helps.

The way I see it, if you can't sit down and discuss it, you sure as hell shouldn't be doing it.
If you can't have a conversation about a serious (or non-serious, I guess) topic, you shouldn't be contemplating doing intimate and potentially damaging (mentally or physically) things with them.

Now, I give leeway for genuine anxiety and stuff, me being mentally ill myself, but that just makes it all the more important.
Bad sex can f*ck you up, bad relationships more so. If you can't communicate in a relationship, you shouldn't be in it.

It's harsh, but *shrug*

You have to be able to go ''Look, honey, I need to talk about X''
Stand in front of the door if you have to. On the forum, we tend to only get one side of the situation so we do tend to be skewed in favour of the poster, but it shouldn't matter ''who's problem it is''.
Couples need to be able to talk about shit, and if they can't, then they just need to put the ideas of certain practices out of their heads.