Guitarists

I am a guitarist and have been playing for about 8 years (i think). I only really know my wifes opinions on me playing guitar so I wondered what you guys think.

Are guitarists sexy? Are there any more guitarists on the LH forums? Do you date one and find it as annoying as my wife does? (she finds it very annoying as I tend to practice lots and will play the same thing over and over)

Middle-aged folkie here. Started playing 27 years ago.

Oh my. %-)

You dont say whether it is acoustic or electric guitar. My wifes previous boyfriend and my friend were in a rock band, my wife and I met because the band and myself used the same van and shared the cost.

A male musician performing live is as far as I can tell sexy to some women, certainly successful musicians are never short of girlfriends. However, my friends endless playing of the same tune and constant fiddling with his guitar drove me nuts, I stopped going to see him because it was boring and he couldnt stop. My wife said her bf became increasingly obsessed with practicing to the point where they didnt really have a relationship any more. He did have a career as a guitarist as a session musician so I suppose it paid off but ended his relationship. When they split he returned everythiong she ever gave him except the 1959 Les Paul original guitar, which sort of sums things up.

Advice? Practice where she cant hear it, dont pick the geetar up when she wants to talk. Only play to her when you have it completely sorted.

I play electric guitar and heavy metal. I tend to play when she is busy doing other stuff or when I am at home and she is at work (I do shifts). Also started to have propper guitar lessons but I really dont practice enough.

But as for the topic I mean any type of guitarist

I envy anyone who can play the guitar. I had a cheap electric guitar maybe 20 years ago and never got the hang of it so decided to sell it.