Body confidence issues

I’m having a bit of a body confidence wobble. To give you the background info, about 5 years ago I managed to loose about 3 stone going from a size 16-18 to a 12-14 and was really happy with my progress. Unfortunately this came at a cost. I have fibromyalgia / chronic fatigue and it was only by sheer stubbornness and a lot of pain that I managed it. Unfortunately my body didn’t appreciate it and i now struggle with pain in my hips and back as well as weak knees, arthritic toes and unexplained exhaustion. I’ve been doing physio and gentle yoga for the last 2 years and i’m doing everything i can to get better but it’s looking more and more like I’ll have to learn to live with it.

I can’t do much exercise beyond a very slow short (10 min) walk and even that is painful. I am depressed and have very strong emotional connection to food due to past trauma, I can’t cope with restricting my diet and can’t loose weight. My weight is starting to slowly creep up I think although I refuse to check because my mood would spiral. I know that it’s understandable and probably the last thing i need to worry about now but it still makes me sad.

I don’t feel confident in my clothes or underwear, I want to look sexy but just feel fat and uncomfortable. I’m about a size 12 on top, 14 -16 on the bottom and quite short in height. When i first met my OH I was a very tiny size 6 - 8 and probably underweight but I felt confident and could wear nice clothes and knickers. Now I just want to cover up, hide my tummy and bum that i used to love but now looks awful.

Does anyone have any kind words that might make me feel better?

14-16 is probably average, and i would class as curvy.
I think you’re doing well coping with everything you do, so please don’t feel like you’re feeling.
Hugs to you. :hugs::hugs::hugs:

2 Likes