Did I buy too much today?

So usually a month or two before Christmas, I stock up on bottles of alcohol for Halloween, Christmas and New year. I’ve been doing this since I turned 18 2 years ago. I usually get a bottle or two at a time but in my town, it seems like wine and other stuff are getting scarce so I decided to do a big shop for it today incase this was my last chance to get stuff I liked. Keep in mind, my town is very small and doesn’t get a lot of food deliveries to shops.

I bought 2 bottles of prosecco, 2 bottles of vodka, 1 bottle of Malibu and one bottle of whisky. I paid and left. I didn’t think much of it. When I got home, my mother and my brother were making me feel self conscious about it and saying that people were probably judging me for “buying so much”. Is 6 bottles really that bad? I’m nowhere near an alcoholic and they are making me feel like I am. I drink on average once a week and it is usually one to three drinks each time.

5 Likes

Not at all, especially if you’re stocking up for Christmas. You’re over 18 so it’s nobodies business but your own.
The shop assistant probably never gave it a second thought.

3 Likes

6 bottles is not that much to cover 2 big and 1 possibly big party time. For my friend group all 25-28 we tend to get someone to buy it all at costco and pay them back and whats left over gets carried forward to the next event. For this Halloween (11 definites / 2 maybe coming) we have 6 bottles of prosecco, 4 bottles vodka, 2 gin, 1 rum, 4 boxes of cider and 5 boxes beer + whatever people bring on the night. For New Year last year there were a few more of us but we ended up with with 16 bottles of prosecco, 8 bottles of Vodka, 8 bottles of Gin, 10 crates of beer and 10 crates of cider. So there is no shame in buying to cover a spread of events especially when buying for yourself, only really becomes an issue if you were to drink that in a short period time and it became a recurring event.