Mastitis?

I think I have mastitis, even though my breastfeeding days are years behind me - it feels the same.
I can phone my GP is it hangs around and I think I am doing the right things (paracetamol, massage and a heated cushion) but the usual solution is a baby to latch on, and is unavailable!
Any thoughts / advice from the helpful folk on here?

I am no expert but if it persists i would insist on seeing a doctor, as our friend Jilly said, don’t let Covid stop you getting advice. Hope it gets better.

2 Likes

@WillC I can phone my surgery tomorrow but they are only doing phone consultations - if I need to be seen it is unlikely to be this week so I just thought I’d see if anyone else had experience of this, outside of breastfeeding, in the meantime.

I’m very ‘breast aware’ as relatives have had breast cancer and I have regular screening - this doesn’t feel ominous but it might need antibiotics if home-cures don’t work.

1 Like

When I was breastmilk feeding (I pumped breastmilk) and got mastitis my husband would suck out the blockages…any chance? I had mastitis a few times and it is horrid! Hope it passes soon x

There is no milk to block any ducts, so it is more likely to be an infection.

Nipple sucker?

1 Like

I haven’t got any, but I could put in an emergency order… thinking about it, this is something missing from our toybox which MrR would certainly enjoy…

On the other hand, no one is getting anywhere near the breast in question until I feel better…

I genuinely don’t know if that’ll help, but if sucking/clearing a duct blockage is needed I thought maybe a little nipple plunger could work?

1 Like

Good thought, thank you, but I think it is an inflammatory thing given I’m not breastfeeding, so the antibiotics might arrive sooner than the nipple suckers - but I still think they could be fun one day.

I just wondered if anyone on the forum had experienced this?

If it’s inflammatory ibuprofen may be of help.

1 Like