Funniest/best/worst thing you’ve done in a job

Apologies if there’s been something like this before but thought it could be a bit of fun! (I didn’t see anything)

This story is still one of my parents’ favourites, 15 or so years later :woman_facepalming:t2:

In my early-mid 20s I was a retail manager in a chain shop that sold makeup, perfume, toiletries and the like.

I’ve never had much patience for people being idiots and I was having a bad day.

The chain had started stocking a few of the Durex Play range of toys and they were out on the shop floor. A group of 3 school boys (probably age 14 or so) were hanging around them for ages being a pain and making jokes about who would use them etc.

I’d had enough so just walked up to them perfectly straight faced and told them - rather loudly - that these toys aren’t recommended for anal use (to be fair, the packaging said they weren’t) so they’d be better off looking elsewhere.

To this day I don’t think I’ve seen anyone go as bright red so quickly and disappear.

One of my staff overheard (unknown to me) and it became store legend and went round other stores too… oops?

22 Likes

Working in a prison, I’d gone in extra early (7am) to get residents seen- their work shifts start at 8.30 so you have a half an hour window between waking and work else you have to wait all day for them to get back. Roll on 8 hours later, clocking out at 3pm, I have my backpack and coat on and am leaving my office when I run into a group of inmates. One yells to me “Leaving early Miss?” and I, feeling especially accomplished after coming in early, replied “No, not early, I’ve been in since 7 thank you very much!!” I could have died right on the spot at him turning round and saying “Well Miss I’ve been in for 3 years so can I come with?”.

I have a billion fun stories of prison life but this one I think is my biggest “foot in mouth moment” … that and automatically wishing them a good weekend on a Friday afternoon -_-

14 Likes