Implant Removal = Feeling Happier?

Hey everyone!

As some of you know, I had my contraceptive implant removed on Monday and I'm not sure whether it's psychological or physical, but I am feeling a massive boost in my happiness levels. I don't think I realised how poopy I was feeling. 

Has anyone else experienced this? Could I really be feeling the benefits within such a short length of time?

I'm particularly wondering as I had it removed late (tut tut) and had assumed that any hormones in it would have "run out" so to speak. 

PS: I don't want this to put anyone off the implant - my first one was AMAZING. This second one was basically a nightmare from day one though. 

Would love to know your experiences. 

I have no experience to speak of, so feel free to skip over my post as you read.
The life of the hormones in the implant is its effective period, there will continue to be hormones released after than time but they could be at a higher or lower rate or in different proportion to the intended period, thus affecting it's effectiveness. This is why they have a recommended removal date.
It is of course possible that the fluctuating hormones were making you feel poopy. It's also possible that you were having a nocebo effect by the psychological impact of having it still in you when you expect it to be redundant.

Either way, welcome back, happy Jess.

I've never had an implant myself, but as subby has said, it may be the fact that it has been removed, and that in itself can be a huge relief. Especially when it has made you feel so bad. I'm really pleased you feel a lot better now Jess :) xx

N'aw thanks guys! Me too! It's nice to feel like "me" again (even though I didn't realise I wasn't "me' before). 

Either way, I'm chuffed as a badger with new stripes. Or something.